Vegetarian Chilli

adapted from & inspired by Food Heaven Made Easy, check out their recipe  & site

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Ingredients:

  • 1-15 oz can of black beans
  • 1-15 oz can of kidney beans
  • 2/3 cup of pasta sauce
  • 1-15 oz can of diced tomatoes
  • 1 zucchini
  • 1 onion
  • 1 okra
  • Handful of mushrooms
  • 2 carrots
  • stalk of broccoli
  • 1 tablespoon of cumin
  • 1 table spoon of oregano
  • 2-3 bay leaves
  • rosemary
  • 1-2 tablespoons of (Packet) of chilli powder
  • 6 cloves of garlic
  • 1/2 bell pepper
  • 1 plum tomato (diced)

If you want spicy:

  • 1/2-1 habanero pepper
  • 3-5 long slim cayenne pepper
  • cayenne pepper powder
  • crushed red pepper seeds

Instructions:

  1. Dice the zucchini, bell pepper, onion,mushrooms, carrots & okra (and any other veggies you want to add)  Heat a pan, add oil & crush garlic then sautee veggies for 3-6 minutes while adding the cumin & oregano.  Stir often (You want the veggies to be very crisp because they will continue cooking later on.)
  2. In a large pot add the black & kidney beans, diced tomato -fresh & canned, pasta sauce. Add sauteed veggies. Add chilli powder & rosemary & bay leaves. Bring it to boil. Then let it simmer for 35-45 minutes. (If necessary add water to  mixture.)
  3. Cut broccoli & add it with 15-20 minutes left so it won’t get too soft.
  4.   Add salt  at the end after you taste && thinks it might need some.

FOR SPICIER CHILLI:

  1. Dice the habanero and slim cayenne pepper, remember the pepper seeds are the hottest not the pepper flesh itself.  I added most of the pepper seeds. I used a half of habanero  & 3 slim peppers in my chilli.
  2. Add  habanero and slim cayenne peppers after you add the sauteed veggies to the beans and pasta mixture. Stir. Add powdered cayenne pepper & crushed red pepper.  stir.  I added a little more chilli powder also.
  3. Then cover & simmer.

If you see in the photos, there was a little pot of chilli it was for my mom, she can’t eat spicy food so I set aside her portion & she likes her veggies super crunchy so I added more veggies to hers later in the process. The spicy peppers came from my garden. I guess they sell them at the store, they definitely sell spicy chilli powder, I had original powder. Also the rosemary and plum tomato was from my garden too 😀

This was for my family, 5 of us.  They liked it, I put the chilli over brown rice and it was truly a satisfying  meal. I added some shredded cheese on top. fancy.  The tomato sauce was extra I added it to get more of a tomato-y feel and water it down. It worked well.  Many of these ingredients are optional! Just decide what you want and add it!

Beans are high in fiber and protein- fyi

It was a delicious, healthy, easy meal! Thanks Jess!

Get There.
✗♥O

2 thoughts on “Vegetarian Chilli

  1. T. Espi

    I love the ladies from food heaven made easy. I found them through Hey Fran Hey. While I’m not a vegetarian, I am trying to incorporate more healthy and whole foods into my families diet. With the arrival of cooler temps this will make for a yummy and healthy meal. Thanks!

    Reply
    1. Museologie Post author

      Thanks! I found them through Hey Fran Hey also!! I’m not a vegetarian either, but some days I really just do not like meat with my meals, but I need something hearty so this did the trick!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

