To Grow, Don’t Be Afraid to Trim

From tumblr...all so true

Last year I was seriously not liking my hair. After graduation I cut it, well maybe cut isn’t the right word, it was like an overly ambitious trim. I was happy. I could start again. I could make goals specific for my hair and I could  closely monitor my regimen, I would take care of my hair and hopefully see it flourish and grow!

Several weeks after I trimmed my hair I had a falling out with several friends which wasn’t  unexpected, but losing friends never ever feels good.  The only thing I could relate it to at that moment was cutting my hair. I kept saying to myself Well you have to trim your hair for it to grow, so it makes sense that you’ll have to trim you’re friends to cut out the bad ones for you grow and get to the next level.  I must have had this discussion with myself for about two weeks straight. When I go back & think on that time, the people who I no longer talk to weren’t helping me at all, to be honest, it wasn’t a great friendship. Sometimes we hold on to stuff because it’s so comfortable. Letting go is hard, but necessary. I have goals. I have a plan of action and I know where I want to go. I need people in my life who are supportive, who will help me grow and push me to do my best. But these same friends should be concerned and critical, when I’m being egocentric and selfish TELL ME. Honest Friends. True friends. They are very hard to come by, even today I struggle with this concept of true friends and if it will exist for me.

Well it’s been about 18 months since my hair trim. Now, my hair is longer, thicker, fuller and healthier than it has ever been.  It’s almost parallel to my personal life. I’ve tightened my circle. It’s a little circle. Not quite a power circle maybe just a “pow” circle. But I have learned a lot in the process and I’m still growing daily. I am still 5’3″  sooo yes it is all emotional growth. Not everyone is going to make it to the next level in your life and it is okay. Really! It is the way things are supposed to be.  I used to hate this saying, but you do have people in your life for a reason and a season.  Learn the lessons they present, enjoy the time together, but you keep pressing forward no matter what.  Work hard at your goals, have faith and keep going.

If you have a goal to start leading a healthy lifestyle observe which one of your friends (family too!!!) keep having junk food when you’re around. If you plan to go back to school, see which people in your life start doing and saying things that counter your plans.  Small stuff. I could give countless examples, but you have to be wise and decipher who is really in your corner and who sent their hologram.

You have to trim your hair to grow.

Get There.
✗♥O

10 thoughts on “To Grow, Don’t Be Afraid to Trim

  1. Nathalie

    Love this! & you of course. ^_^ I’ll read this once a week until I fully get over my circumstantial “loss”. #gettingthere

    Reply
  2. Rachée (@sayitrahshay)

    My grandmother always says, “If it gets too thick, thin out!” We used to laugh at this but it is oh so true! Hair, life, things. Sigh! I’ll be thinning out some areas in my life soon too. The clutter will be trimmed!

    Reply
  3. PK

    Oh my I love this post! You are so true we must trim to the fat to really be able to see our true self. Thanks for this great post!

    Pamela

    Reply
  4. Saidah@AProverbsWife.com

    You go gurl!! Life is too short to be overly wrapped up in this thing called friendship. I try not to take it to seriously and follow the motto…Be there for friends more than they expect you to be. I always try to be a good friend but stopped expecting friends to reciprocate. It used to frustrate me that I expected friends to do certain things for me that I’d do for them. My friendship style is more about giving now. It’s better to give than to receive anyway and it just makes me happy to do what I can for my friends.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

