Banana Nut Muffins

I LOVE MAKING THESE!  So I thought I’d share!

BANANA NUT MUFFINS

  • 2 cups of whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 ¼ teaspoon of baking powder
  • ¼  teaspoon of salt
  • 1 teaspoon of ground cinnamon
  • ¼ cup of sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 3 tablespoons of applesauce
  • 2-3 VERY ripe and mashed bananas
  • ¼ cup of milk
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
  • ¼ –  ½  cup of chopped pecans or walnuts
  • ¼ cup of raisins (optional)

12 Muffins!!

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. In a medium bowl, mix the flour, baking powder, salt and cinnamon.
  3. In a large bowl, whisk the sugar and egg until well combined.  Then add in the applesauce, mashed bananas, milk and vanilla extract.
  4. Add the dry ingredients ( flour mixture) to the wet ingredients and stir until the batter mixed well making sure there are no streaks of dry  ingredients.
  5. Add the nuts and raisins in the batter if you want.
  6. Do not over mix by stirring too much.
  7. Either line your muffin pan with paper liners, or spray the holder  with vegetable oil, (if you don’t have the liners…like me)
  8. Add an equal amount of batter into each muffin  holder.
  9. Bake for 18-24 mins (depends on your oven. My muffins take about 22 mins max)   Use a toothpick to test, insert into the center of a muffin or 2- if it comes out clean they’re done.
  10. Take muffins out of holder to cool.
  11. EAT!

Misc Tips:

` I use VERY VERY VERY ripe bananas which are super sweet which is why you really don’t need any sugar. I added a quarter of a  cup but I might just nix the sugar next  time I make them. Also, my mother froze my bananas  by accident. So as they defrosted they made a water/syrup mixture. SO frickin sweet!
`The recipe called for brown sugar- I didn’t have it I just had some fructose from whole foods.
`Applesauce is (and can be used as) a  replacement for the vegetable oil.
`I don’t drink dairy milk. I used almond milk.
`My sister likes nuts and doesn’t like raisins. My brother likes raisins and doesn’t like nuts…they are both optional to add to your mixture.
`USE pastry flour and not cooking flour!! It makes SUCH a big difference.

I eat these for breakfast with fruit and/or an egg or as a snack after dinner when I want something sweet. This satisfies my sweet tooth… especially if I put a little jelly on it. I  have 6 in the fridge && 6 in the freezer to have later. I heat them up and poww.. yum. good stuff.

Enjoy.
Get There.
✗♥O

2 thoughts on “Banana Nut Muffins

Leave a Reply

