The Detox Debate

Wholeliving.com

Whole Living’s Detox Green Smoothies

Detoxing is IN. Yall would agree right?

What is a detox? Detoxing is cleansing the body of wastes and toxins.

Do you need to detox? That’s the million dollar question. I’ve seen research to support both sides of the argument on whether a detox is necessary. My response, well-no. Your body has natural detoxifying organs. The biggest and more important is the liver.Your liver is actually the biggest organ in your body and without this thing you wouldn’t be able to survive. (other organs that detox: colon & kidneys)

Well if it’s not really necessary why do people detox? Because it’s in! Duh! Everybody is doing it and everybody is doing a different type of detox. More importantly these people who are doing it, whether it be your friends, family, coworkers & even celebrities, are yielding results… AND QUICKLY!

Personally, I’m neutral on this debate. If you detox great. If you don’t great. If you know what you’re doing when you do detox and you are still nutritionally balanced then yea sure why not. But don’t just do a detox, then pass out mid day on day 3.  #NO.

Currently, I guess you could say I’m doing a detox.  This is out of the January/February Whole Living Magazine. Theirs is 3 weeks long, it provides breakfasts/lunches/dinners/snacks + more (it’s really a great detox), but I’m not doing all that. I’m taking a few meals and adding them into my life while removing

  • Simple carbs (bagels, thin bread, waffles, vanilla almond cold cereal, pasta, rice etc)
  • Dairy (yogurt/ice cream/ cheese)
  • Sweets (snickers, lollipops, hot chocolate, juice etc)
  • Meat

http://www.wholeliving.com

Cauliflower Rice & Stir Fry

I’m adding quinoa & a whole lot of veggies at every meal. They have several recipes that I am doing. Here’s some of them:

  • Quinoa & Cardamom (Breakfast) Porridge
  • Roasted Portabella mushrooms with kale
  • Cauliflower rice stir fry
  • Banana Oat Pancakes
  • Red pepper & kale frittata

The most important thing to do is early preparation because you have to cut all your veggies and rushing just isn’t an option. Last night I actually tried the cauliflower rice stir fry & it was good. Doing this type of detox (one where I’m eating food not just drinking for days) forces me to try new dishes && I like it!..the quinoa porridge was good too..(I will add cinnamon to it next time.)

Why am I doing a detox?

^^: mygifdump.tumblr.com

Well for the last several weeks I’ve been a little stressed. I *sigh* I am an emotional eater. I’ve been feeling weighed down and I know in the last few months I’ve increased my intake of cheese and breads..A BIG INCREASE! That has led me to a few acne breakouts and I’m toooo through with myself. In the summer of 2011 I stopped all dairy and reduced my grains/pastas + increased my H2O..my face really cleared up.  It might not work for everybody, but you have to try and see what is the culprit.

Just remember, everything that you eat affects your body. It affects your hormones, your organs, your systems…everything. So taking a break from all the refined foods will help your body reset and by adding foods in slowly you can figure out what is the problem food. If you do a detox and keep up your new habits you probably won’t have to detox again..the problem is- we detox-lose weight-feel better. Then go back to our old stuff that messed us up to begin with!  After detoxing your should feel better, not just physically but mentally also.

So now to  yall…detox or not to detox?? Where do you stand? If you do detox what do you do?

Get There.
✗♥O

3 thoughts on “The Detox Debate

  1. Pingback: Kale Beet Drink | The Tenth Muse: Fitness Plus

Leave a Reply

