My CrossFit Experience

CrossFit ManayunkA few months ago Living Social had a deal for CrossFit Manayunk. I was like well, it’s $39 && it was 81% savings. I think getting this will be a win all around. The deal expires on the 24th, so I redeemed it on the 18th.  You have to go to an introductory class called, OnRamp before participating in their weekly classes. In this 3 hr class they go through the common movements and exercises that are given. We did kettlebell activities, wall balls, slam balls, Olympic lifts such as… clean & jerk, push press, split jerk. All those exercises were fine, I went through them and was hella confident, now, when we got to the kipping pullups, my life forever change. I went from cloud nine to 6 feet under. I WAS HORRIBLE! My whole entire upper body failed me. Like JORDAN WHY DON’T YOU HAVE ANY UPPER BODY STRENGTH!? I used the resistance band for additional assistance, but no, that didn’t even help. At that moment I realized, I’m not fit, I got  sad and discouraged, but then we had to do our workout : 8 MIN AMRAP  (As many reps/round as possible)  It was difficult, but I think I handled it quite well. In 8 minutes our class had to do: 5 burpees/ 5 slam balls/ 5 situps/5 air squats.  It doesn’t seem like much right? Well it was. You try it. You do those 4 exercises for 8 minutes && try to go your fastest without compromising form.   I promise yall I wasn’t sore until 3:30am. (why was I up that late? Partying..that’s besides the point) When I got home, my whole body, yall don’t understand, My ENTIRE BODY from my calves up to my traps were yelling at me!   What was especially achy was my back- lats, rhomboids, traps, erector spinae, the rotator cuff muscles. All back muscles were sore… oh and might I add that they still are! Lower body recovered quite quickly so I’m happy about that.

I watch CrossFit games all the time on ESPN, but I still was unsure what to expect for the class and after leaving, I really don’t know how to feel. I mean I’ve been thinking about this for the past few days. I like it- the concept and variety that crossFit represents. I guess my issues would be, breaking in and being able to get some friends, it seems like everybody has their place. Another issue would be injury, with the Olympic lifts and with the weight and intensity, what if I get injured? Now that I write them out, they don’t seem like reasons not to continue, but  those 2 issues are important. With the Living Social deal I get 2 weeks to participate in any class, but I won’t just because my schedule doesn’t allow it, but they offer open gym hours on Sunday So I’ll participate in that this Sunday, just to get more familiar with the equipment and lifting. I think adding CrossFit would be great to my workout schedule, maybe one day or possibly two, I wouldn’t want this to be my only workout. I know CrossFit has variety, but I like variety outside of a specific program. Also, I would really have to look into the weights I use so I don’t get the bulky, I’m swole look.

Overall, I’m happy I got this experience; it’s definitely one I won’t forget. Maybe when I go down south I’ll try it again to see if I can add it into my workout routines. I was reminded that I can improve what I’m doing fitness-wise to be a fitter person. A lot of respect goes to the crossfitters. They are very fit- endurance, speed and power. Strength & cardio.

Pre workout meal–> Oatmeal Smoothie

  • 1/4 cup of oatmeal
  • 8 oz of almond milk
  • banana
  • Scoop of weight protein
  • Ice Cubes (optional)
  1. Blend in blender until smooth.
  2. Drink & enjoy

Post Workout Quick Meal–> Egg Sammie

  • 2 eggs
  • Flat bread
  • Avocado
  • cheese
  • 2 button Mushrooms
  1. Cut and saute your mushroom
  2. If you have room in the same pot, cook your eggs over hard. If not, just wait a bit!
  3. Place mushroom on top of eggs, if you want add some cheese.
  4. Lightly toast bread and add avocado as a spread.
  5. Place eggs in bread & enjoy.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Get There.
✗♥O

3 thoughts on “My CrossFit Experience

  1. aregularcupofjo

    Congrats on pushing yourself and the healthy living style you are involved in. I recently decided to start working out again and I have been more motivated than ever by blogging. Keep up the great work and don’t stop 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

