iCook

I’ve always been a chef, yall already know this! But now I’m on my own with no meal plan and I am forced to cook everyday. WHAT COULD BE BETTER YALL!?! I’ve been making basic breakfasts, rarely am I home for lunch, but my dinners are so very very poppin!! Now there are two conflicting factors with this: 1 I discussed my want to gain weight, but 2. at Rutgers I put on like 10 pounds and I only want like 3-5lbs, SOO I don’t want to overdo it, however, cooking for myself helps me control what is going into my body. I had my first exam today so I’ve been snacking way more and it was great when I was bringing my snacks, but I went to CVS and bought some snacks that were 1. very cheap. 2. very unhealthy (especially when you eat 2-3 times the serving size in one sitting) yikes 😮

I’m here to talk about my dinners tho and not my stress eating habits that suck.

Veggies are a must. Either stir fry, salad or steamed. I actually got some frozen veggies just in case. I make rice/pasta and try to stretch it over 2-3 days and usually chicken. I had salmon this week, but that will be a treat. I think since every time I cook I’m cutting up veggies I have to take an hour out my weekend and do some meal prep, which is simply cleaning and cutting up veggies for the week, That will make the whole prepping dinner process faster.

Dinner today was Baked Chicken, steamed corn and veggie stir-fry

I thought about doing Italian chicken (marinating my chicken in Italian dressing for a few hours) , but I had this sauce by World Foods called Thai Sweet chili with kaffir lime. I marinated my salmon this weekend and I wanted to use it up. I had about 1/3 of the bottle left, so I mixed italian dressing in it and that was my marinade!   Corn instead of rice/quinoa. and for my stir fry- broccoli, carrots, mushrooms, onions, garlic with spices & Bragg’s aminos. Yes the veggies still had their crunch! = nutrition still locked in the veggies! 

The chicken turned out AMAZING and everything else was very tasty too! I have some extra for tomorrow or Saturday.

REMEMBER 1/2 plate veggies, 1/4 starch, 1/4 poultry 

Get There.
✗♥O

Leave a Reply

