Oh, I Climbed There

Hey! Everybody, Hi!!

I have my 2014 outlook posted on my cork board which is posted directly above my desk. I read it every now and then, usually when I’m in my emotions and need to be encouraged, but there’s one bullet in there for something that I wanted to start this year and that is “start climbing consistently in 2014 on the wall at the gym.” WELL, when I started the spring semester, the wall was under renovations for about 2 months and in March when it was complete, there I was…climbing. I’m a beginner, but it’s something that I love. It’s such an amazing workout, especially the upper body, but also your mind. You HAVE to be logical about how to get up and stay on course. Wednesday I have sunrise yoga before classes and after classes I go to the wall for another 45 minutes to work on getting my belay certification and climbing. * Please note, I am not afraid of heights*

Climbing wall.

Climbing wall-looking up.

Our wall at USC is 52 ft high and they have climbing routes for beginner, intermediate and advanced climbers. The staff is really nice and encouraging. The climbing wall is part of the Outdoors Rec. Dept which has me thinking more and more that I’m an outdoorsy person. In addition to all the other types of activity I like to do– running, gyming, lifting, eating, yoging, etc, I love the outdoors life… hiking, climbing, kayaking, camping… you get my gist. The most important thing about working out is the enjoyment factor– you should be enjoying yourself at least 99.9960% of the time the other .0040 is you pushing yourself and fighting through to get to your goal. For example: Around mile 2.3 of running I feel it, I’m talking to myself, I’m questioning God why I am exercising, but usually I am internally yelling to myself to 1- stop working out in life. 2-push it to the end. It is a bit more challenging towards the end, BUT I STILL ENJOY MYSELF!

On with climbing…last week was graduate student week and at USC the graduate student association had an event on Thursday of climbing (an outdoors challenge course on campus) and ice cream. Bro, I was so there. I went with my classmates, who opted to watch and take pictures. I did the course first, it was like THE BEST EVER!!! If I was questioning then if I liked climbing, that day solidified it. Totally in love with it.

I want to get to a point where I have this really super picturesque photo and someone asks, “well dang Jordan how did you get ALL the way up there to take the picture?” and my response is… Oh I climbed there.
Will it happen? Yup, in a few years I’m sure of it.

Get There. New Levels.
✗♥O

Below are a few pictures from the challenge course and our climbing yall at the gym.

Leave a Reply

