‘Tis The Season

to give? Yup, to be generous, caring and giving, but just now- from Thanksgiving to Christmas. Then you go back to being selfish!

I’ve been quite upset with myself because I haven’t jumped into any volunteer work since I’ve returned home. My home girl in TN (hey Nat <3) constantly posts volunteer opportunities on Facebook. I’m low-key jealous of all that she’s doing. She’s all happy and sharing opportunities that I want to do, ugh (Just kidding, love you!) In South Carolina, I mainly stayed at the tennis center and helped parents/community members with their tennis programs during off hours, or I went to after school programs and taught. But Philly is one of the largest cities and here  I am struggling to figure out exactly what I want to do. I know what I don’t want to do.

I don’t want to volunteer at my church..in the Track & Field ministry. I coached for 2 seasons tumblr_nxk5scPuwL1ql5yr7o1_500before I left for graduate school and I’m over it. I always have this feeling, Are we God-fearing Christian adults who are leading this mass of young athletes, or high school students worried about the wrong things? Since I still have that feeling…. nah. Nope. Not doing it to myself again.

So what do I want to do and why is adding this into my life so crucial and why do I miss it so much?

  1. I’ve decided that I will do 2 volunteer type of activities. The first is mentor young girl(s) of color. There are a ton of programs, but I  am looking for a well organized and involved program  that wants a long term commitment, at least a year with your mentee. The second is volunteering at an urban community garden. I may have a green thumb y’all. But yeah I think urban community gardens are where it’s at, and I need to be where’s it at… you feel me? Probably not, but it’s cool. You can get some of my tomatoes, rosemary, kale, basil and cucumbers next summer while I drop horticultural knowledge on you 😉
  2. Why do I need it in my life? Mainly for balance. I feel like something is missing when I’m doing me solely. There’s only but so much I can do in a day/week for The Tenth Muse. I feel that I am extremely fortunate and blessed- my upbringing, my family, various other opportunities, and so many other aspects. It speaks volumes about my character for me to not give because time is there, I can make time.
  3. Why do I miss it so much? Probably because my subconscious is speaking to me , my lack of giving has heavy on my mind for about 2 months now. I was super excited to do the Big Chill this year, but this weekend I have to stay in the city. It’s different than work, and it never feels like work when  volunteering. The benefits far outweigh the negatives. I need some of that in my life.

This isn’t the season to give. Every season is a season to give. It just exponentially grows during the holiday season and then we forget about the 11 months which are just as important. Individuals are  in as much need during May as they are in December. Your gifts/talents can be used on Independence Day  similar to how they can be utilized on Christmas Day.

I am ready to get back into it. If you know any good, reliable organizations in Philadelphia that are looking for mentors, drop the names below!

#GetThere #NewLevels
One thought on “‘Tis The Season

  1. Nathalie

    Yay I got a shout-out! lol.
    You’ll find something great to be a part of! It’s definitely more taxing mentally/emotionally to find yourself a part of an org you aren’t passionate about and doesn’t give you a sense of purpose or fulfillment so no need to rush! You’re awesome and will be an asset anywhere. ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

