It is a big deal that Sharapova was doping.

Sharapova rocking a Nike outfit. Nike is distancing themselves after news broke that she failed a drug test.

Yesterday while at work, my sister informed me that Sharapova failed a doping test at the 2016 Australian Open. Now, some of y’all may have heard about the story and thought that it wasn’t a big deal, well it is.

From the jump, my first reaction was All them drugs, and she still couldn’t beat Serena. I mean, who isn’t thinking that?  But on a serious note,  I loathe- I absolutely hate athletes that abuse ergogenic aids to get a unfair advantage in their competition. This stems back to my days as a competitive (tennis) athlete when someone clearly lied about a line call. I didn’t know the word back then, but I was pissed. [Not using illegal substances, but still lying.]  A bad call usually resulted in me getting infuriated, then whopping their ass: Game. Set. Match – Muse.  As a professional athlete, it is your job to know about illegal steroid or ergogenic aid usage.  Okay fine, you might not  be doing the research that you need to, but you have trainers and coaches that are there to support you, and ensuring that you’re not doping is or should be a key duty! I know rules change frequently in terms of what is legal, what dosage is allowed, etc, but you are supposed to know this- this is your job.

It’s a big deal because where are your morals and ethics? In any profession there is always an option to take the easy way out and many people do, to them I also say, you’re pathetic. You fail or find a way to succeed and accomplish your goals. You can even fail, learn and become great because of that failure. That *still* isn’t cheating.

Maria Sharapova PHOTO: JOHN RUSSO/CORBIS

It’s a big deal because Sharapova is the face of tennis and the “nemesis” of [Serena] Williams despite not winning a match against her in over a decade. She is a top-earner in this sport, has hella endorsement deals and people just adore her. Why? I’m not quite sure, but that’s neither here nor there. Yes, athletes dope in every sport, but right now, I’m focused on tennis, especially in the wake of the match fixing report that was released a few months ago. No matter what she does, she is seen as this pure, beautiful, can-do-no-wrong professional athlete that has been gracing us for years. This ain’t that.

Maria Sharapova took illegal substances during the Australian Open. Period. I know sponsors are distancing themselves and keeping watch as this situation is investigated, and I hope this isn’t just swept under the rug. Professional athletes have got to do better. C’mon!

-Jordan

Leave a Reply

