Let’s do a Walking Challenge

 

I won’t even spend time justifying why I was gone or explaining where I was. I really needed a break. I think the most important thing now is that I am back and I’m better.

I want to do a walking challenge with y’all! You In? GREAT!

I received an email a few days ago from Kimberly Moore Smith, from APHA. It was a generic email to everybody on their listserv, but the content caught my attention for a change.

APHA is the American Public Health Association and they are having a step challenge called “APHA’s 1 billion step challenge.” I’m pretty positive I did a post a while back about the benefits associated with walking and how the surgeon general issued a call to action in 2016 focused on walking. The recommended amount of daily steps = 10,000.

I work in an office and I know that I caught myself never getting up from my desk and that is a problem. Yes, I workout. And yes, I get the recommended amount of moderate &/or vigorous exercise weekly, still, I realized I was too sedentary. And that’s not uncommon, – people exercise for their 30+ minutes per day but spend 7+ hour sitting. Sounds crazy, but it’s true. Think about it.  I intentionally walk more during the day, but it helps to wake me up when that 2:30 feeling hits… and it hits me HARD.

tumblr_n7f19j9k0f1qa7sgoo1_400

My job is having a step challenge for a month & I think it will be great for the entire office, our morale and bonding. I’m excited & competitive so I am double ready.

In the meantime, I want to start a walking challenge and invite anyone and everyone to join.  I created a team  our names is simple Muses. Sign up for the team <HERE>   You can link your devices with Stridekick, too. Get your friends and family involved and start a competition or just walk in the AM or PM with no competition.  Make an effort to stop sitting, literally just take a walk. I know it’s rougher because the it’s winter, but y’all, why not? Walking is SO good for your body, health and mind.

I plan to start the challenge Monday Jan. 23rd so you’ll have some time. I’ll probably write a reminder post here & have a few on the Facebook page too. It doesn’t matter where you are in the world, it doesn’t matter if you workout or not — you can join my team 🙂

If you have any questions, you know the drill, leave a comment!

I’m happy to be back.

#GetThere #NewLevels

Leave a Reply

